List of Political Parties in India 2022

List of political parties in India: India, the world’s largest democracy with a parliamentary system, has a multi-party system. Although there is no mention of the party system in the Indian Constitution, there are about 300 political parties here.

The Election Commissioner of India gives recognition and awareness to the political parties in India. Political parties in India are divided into three categories, namely (1) national party, (2) regional party, and (3) recognized party.

Political parties are essential to the success of democracy. In Newman’s words, “political parties are the lifeline of modern politics. ” When a group of citizens is organized and serves as a political entity for the purpose of controlling its general policy and governmental affairs, it is called a political party. Political parties believe in a particular policy or ideology and strive for the national interest.

List of political parties in India

Here is the list of political parties in India, let’s take a look at the list of political parties in India.

List of all the National Parties in India

PartyAbbr.Founding Date
Bharatiya Janata PartyBJP6 April 1980
Indian National CongressINC28 December 1885
Communist Party of India (Marxist)CPI-M7 November 1964
Communist Party of IndiaCPI26 December 1925
Bahujan Samaj PartyBSP14 April 1984
Nationalist Congress PartyNCP10 June 1999
All India Trinamool CongressAITC1 January 1998
National People’s PartyNPP6 January 2013
Source: Election Commission of India

List of all the State Parties in India

India is a federal republic, with its government divided into states and the national government. The states are further divided into political parties, which are often used as a tool for social engineering. Most Indian states have a number of political parties, some of which are regional and some of which are national. The states have been using these parties as a tool to implement their political agendas.

Aam Aadmi PartyAAP2012Delhi, Punjab
All India Anna Dravida Munnetra KazhagamAIADMK1972Puducherry, Tamil Nadu
All India Forward BlocAIFB1939West Bengal
All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul MuslimeenAIMIM1927Telangana
All India N.R. CongressAINRC2011Puducherry
All India United Democratic FrontAIUDF2004Assam
All Jharkhand Students UnionAJSU1986Jharkhand
Asom Gana ParishadAGP1985Assam
Biju Janata DalBJD1997Odisha
Bodoland People’s FrontBPF1985Assam
Desiya Murpokku Dravidar KazhagamDMDK2005Tamil Nadu
Dravida Munnetra KazhagamDMK1949Puducherry, Tamil Nadu
Indian Union Muslim LeagueIUML1948Kerala
Hill State People’s Democratic PartyHSPDP1968Meghalaya
Indian National Lok DalINLD1999Haryana
Indian Union Muslim LeagueIUML1948Kerala
Jammu & Kashmir National ConferenceJKNC1932Jammu & Kashmir
Jammu & Kashmir National Panthers PartyJKNPP1982Jammu & Kashmir
Jammu and Kashmir People’s Democratic PartyJKPDP1998Jammu & Kashmir
Janata Dal (Secular)JD(S)1999Karnataka, Kerala
Janata Dal (United)JD(U)1999Bihar
Jharkhand Mukti MorchaJMM1972Jharkhand
People’s Democratic FrontPDF2017Meghalaya
Kerala Congress (M)KC(M)1979Kerala
Lok Janshakti PartyLJP2000Bihar
Maharashtra Navnirman SenaMNS2006Maharashtra
Maharashtrawadi Gomantak PartyMGP1963Goa
United People’s Party LiberalUPPL2015Assam
Mizo National FrontMNF1959Mizoram
Mizoram People’s ConferenceMPC1972Mizoram
Naga People’s FrontNPF2002Manipur, Nagaland
Nationalist Democratic Progressive PartyNDPP2017Nagaland
Pattali Makkal KatchiPMK1989Puducherry, Tamil Nadu
People’s Party of ArunachalPDA1977Arunachal Pradesh
Rashtriya Janata DalRJD1997Bihar, Jharkhand
Rashtriya Loktantrik PartyRLP2020Rajasthan
Zoram Nationalist PartyZNP1997Mizoram
Revolutionary Socialist PartyRSP1940Kerala, West Bengal
Samajwadi PartySP1992Uttar Pradesh
Shiromani Akali DalSAD1920Punjab
Shiv SenaSS1966Maharashtra
Sikkim Democratic FrontSDF1993Sikkim
Sikkim Krantikari MorchaSKM2013Sikkim
Telangana Rashtra SamithiTRS2001Telangana
Telugu Desam PartyTDP1982Andhra Pradesh, Telangana
United Democratic PartyUDP1972Meghalaya
YSR Congress PartyYSRCP2011Andhra Pradesh, Telangana
Samajwadi Janata Party (Rashtriya)SJP1990Uttar Pradesh
Communist Party of India (Marxist–Leninist) LiberationCPI (ML)L1974Bihar
Goa Forward PartyGFP2016Goa
Indigenous People’s Front of TripuraIPFT2009Tripura
Janta Congress ChhattisgarhJCC2016Chhattisgarh
Jan Nayak Janta PartyJJP2018Haryana
Source: Election Commission of India

The Indian government is made up of many political parties, which are coalitions of like-minded individuals or groups. Each coalition is led by a single politician who is voted in by their party to represent them in the Parliament or legislative body.

The Indian Parliament is made up of a Lok Sabha, or House of the People, and a Rajya Sabha, or House of States. The Lok Sabha is the lower house of the Parliament and is where elections are held.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *